Show Me the Money... But at What Cost?

Issue #23

Today’s Topics

  • It’s My Money & I Need it Now! 💰

  • More, More, More — How Do You Like It? 💸

       3 Mins Read Time

It’s My Money & I Need it Now! 💰

By Jo

In today's consumer-driven society, the urge to stay relevant and keep up with trends often leads to a constant cycle of buy, buy, buy!!!! However, in this culture of consumerism, it's important to evaluate the value of our spending habits. While spending money on whatever we want can be tempting, it's important to ensure that our purchases align with our values and provide genuine worth. Here are some actionable ways to navigate consumerism, stay relevant, and find value in what you buy:

Quick & Easy Tips:

  1. Invest Wisely: Prioritize quality over quantity and choose items that offer long-term value.

  2. Establish a Style: Develop a personal brand that reflects your values and interests.

  3. Shop Ethically: Support brands with ethical and sustainable practices. Research the products you invest in!!!

  4. Prioritize Experiences: Invest in experiences that enrich your life and create lasting memories.

  5. Find Intangible Value: Seek value beyond monetary worth, such as sentimental or cultural significance.

  6. Be Mindful: Evaluate purchases to ensure they align with your needs and values.

  7. Connect with Others: Share your passions with like-minded individuals to enhance your consumer experience.


    Valuable things you may have around the Home? 

     How consumerism Brainwashed America? 

     Consumerism in America? 

More, More, More — How Do You Like It? 💸

By Marcus

You’ve probably heard the popular quote:

We spend money that we don’t have, on things we don’t need, to impress people who don’t care.

Have you ever seen something and thought…. “I gotta have it!”?

A little bit of this and a little bit of that = a lot of stuff.

I remember when a brand-new shirt was a hand-me-down from my brother. A little oversized at times, but eventually, I grew into it. This was normal for me, and I didn’t have an issue with it.

At a certain point growing up, we get to the point where kids make fun of other kids who don’t have the newest or designer clothes.

I was one of those kids that got laughed at. I didn’t know a slightly oversized shirt was that big of a deal, but kids will be kids.

Fast forward and as a teenager, I get a job and guess what my first purchase is with my money?

Designer clothes…

It felt good being able to buy clothes that were “in style” and to get complemented on “dressing nice”.

Fast forward to having a salary-paying job out of college, I could buy whatever clothes I wanted.

Then one day, I had this thought that I spent a good portion of my life focused on buying stuff that I don’t need. I realized there would always be something to chase, a new release, limited editions, or whatever scarcity or marketing tactics designed to get me to part ways with my hard-earned money.

One of the perks of getting older (at least for me) is being less concerned about what people think of you.

I wear the same clothes until they are unwearable. 😂

My car is over 12 years old and paid off. A true OG.

I optimize for the things I really enjoy like gaming, tech, and investing.

I work and invest so I can have the freedom to do more of what I enjoy.

If you’re out there and concerned about having the latest and greatest, remember that it’s a choice and feel free to opt in or out at any time.

May Marcus OG vehicle last forever…

🥇Your feedback is gold!

What did you think about today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.