Turn the Page: New Chapter, More Substance

Issue # 22

Today’s Topics

  • How to be a Person of Substance 🫡

  • Breaking The Cycle💫 

       3 Mins Read Time

How to be a Person of Substance 🫡

By Jo

Personal relationships often get diluted by superficiality and everything that surrounds the idea of it, yet substance remains the cornerstone of meaningful connections.

Substance in Relationships

Authenticity is key, being trustworthy and being capable of showing intimacy through genuine expression (Don’t be afraid to be vulnerable). Practice effective communication and empathy will help establish deeper connections of understanding. Shared values and mutual growth hardens/strengthens relationships, cultivate/encourage purpose and alignment.

Challenges with Substance

Conflict presents opportunities for growth and deeper understanding when approached with empathy and forgiveness. Building trust requires consistency, honesty, and vulnerability (can’t stress this enough).

In this crazy world, the relationships that count offer profound meaning and purpose. In meaningful relationships, we find fulfillment and belonging by being authentic, having empathy, and vulnerability cultivates enduring connections. Let’s cherish and nurture these connections for they enrich our lives and others for the greater good!

Breaking The Cycle 💫

By Marcus

Have you ever thought about what advice you would give your younger self if you had the opportunity?

What if you had the chance but could only share three words?

My number one piece of advice would be:

Save.

Invest.

Freedom.

If you're in the United States, you’ve probably heard the statistic that most Americans can’t afford a $1,000 emergency without using credit or taking out a loan.

I spent most of my life in this category. Medical bills, car repairs, rent, student loans and surprise expenses kept me down. Even with career advances, promotions and raises it wasn’t enough.

Eventually, I became tired of living my life this way and decided to get serious about money and build a $1,000 emergency fund.

I saved what I could to start which was about $100 a month. If I had any extra money I would add it. Eventually, that goal of $1,000 got closer until I hit it several months later!

I was no longer another statistic. I felt I was on the right side of the emergency fund curve.

A few weeks later I have car problems…

Repair Cost $700….

Emergency fund -$700 ⬇️

For the first time, I had a sense of relief that I could pay a major expense at the time and not be crippled for months repaying a credit card balance.

The emergency fund served its purpose. Surprisingly, during the time I built my first emergency fund, I developed greater financial discipline which allowed me to build the fund back up faster than before.

START THE CLIMB

This isn’t a story about an emergency fund, it’s a story about overcoming challenges and making adjustments. To gamify it, think of it simply as going from level one to level two.

What personal historical trends are you working to break? Is it health, relationships, finances, career or something else?

Keep plugging away at what feels impossible.

In the words of Denzel Washington,

To get somewhere you’ve never been, you have to do something you’ve never done”.

One Day at a Time…

🥇Your feedback is gold!

What did you think about today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.